With the search for a new executive vice president and provost underway, Ohio University President Duane Nellis announced the formation of a 22-member search committee in a news release Monday. 

The committee will be co-chaired by University College Dean Elizabeth Sayrs and Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine professor Susan Williams. 

“As the search processes get underway, there will be opportunities for the University community to interact with finalists whom the committee invites to Athens for campus visits,” Nellis wrote. “I urge you to participate in this important part of the process.” 

During the interim period, the position has been held by David Descutner, who served as interim president of the university following the departure of former OU President Roderick McDavis. 

Descutner holds the position left vacant by Pam Benoit, who announced in May she accepted a position as senior vice president and provost at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. 

Nellis said he hopes to select a permanent executive vice president and provost by July 1, 2018. 



Comments powered by Disqus