Ohio point guard D.J. Cooper was named East Division Preseason All-Mid American Conference, the league announced Wednesday. 

This is the second-consecutive season Cooper has earned the honor after being named MAC Freshman of the Year in 2009.

Cooper is joined on the East Division team by Kent State's Justin Greene, Akron's Zeke Marshall, Miami's Julian Mavunga and Buffalo's Javon McCrea. 

Also for the second-consecutive season, Kent State, Akron and Ohio were picked to finish atop the East Division. 

With 16 first-place votes, the Golden Flashes were picked atop the division followed by Akron with 8 votes.

The Bobcats come in third, but did not receive any first-place votes. Miami, Buffalo and Bowling Green round out the rankings. 

The West Division squad consists of two players from Western Michigan and two from Ball State. 

Demetrius Ward and Flenard Whitfield represent the Broncos while Randy Davis and Jarrod Jones represent the Cardinals. 

Central Michigan's Trey Zeigler is the fifth member named to the squad.

Western Michigan (14), Ball State (9) and Central Michigan (1) each received a first place vote.

Toledo, Northern Illinois and Eastern Michigan round out the West Division standings. 

Comments powered by Disqus