Ohio claimed two of the top three end-of-year field hockey awards from the Mid-American Conference Wednesday.

Louzeth Schutte was named the MAC Player of the Year, and coach Neil Macmillan picked up Coach of the Year honors. In all, five of the 11 All-MAC First Team players are Bobcats. 

Schutte was an integral part of a defense that allowed 15 goals during the 20-game season. She was the MAC Defensive Player of the Week three times and also chipped in on offense. She logged seven assists and scored six goals, including three game-winning tallies.

Macmillan's squad finished the regular-season campaign 16-4 and posted a 9-1 conference record to earn the top spot in the upcoming MAC tournament in Athens. Macmillan has now won the award three times in his career.

Jessica Jue, Cathryn Altdoerffer, Taylor Brown and goalie Jen McGill also earned All-MAC First Team honors. 

Player of the Year

Louzeth Schutte, Ohio

Freshman of the Year

Cayleigh Immelman, Central Michigan

Coach of the Year

Neil Macmillan, Ohio

All-MAC 1st Team

Devanny Kuhn, Ball State

Cayleigh Immelman, Central Michigan

Simone Lazar, Central Michigan

Carla Johl, Kent State

Rebecca Lee, Kent State

Casey Bayliss, Missouri State

Cathryn Altdoerffer, Ohio

Taylor Brown, Ohio

Jessica Jue, Ohio

Jen McGill, Ohio

Louzeth Schutte, Ohio

All-MAC 2nd Team

Gretchen Lulow, Ball State

Erin Dye, Central Michigan

Paulina Lee, Central Michigan

Anastasia Netto, Central Michigan

Debbie Bell, Kent State

Julia Hofmann, Kent State

Emily Gruesser, Miami

Kylie Landeros, Miami

Amanda Seeley, Miami

Sarah Bradley, Missouri State

Reiann Stoute, Missouri State


Comments powered by Disqus