Alex Gaskarth and Jack Barakat to host the event’s sophomore showing Wednesday at Quicken Loans Arena

CLEVELAND -- For the second year in a row, northeast Ohio is still keeping its role as the alternative music capital of the world.

Quicken Loans Arena will be the site of the second annual Journeys Alternative Press Music Awards on Wednesday, hosted by Alex Gaskarth and Jack Barakat of the band All Time Low.

The awards show is set to have a large collection of performances from some of the biggest names to grace the front cover of Alternative Press. The lineup includes Weezer, Panic! At The Disco and Sum 41.

The night will consist of 15 categories in which bands in the alternative rock and pop punk genre can win awards. Awards are based on votes by fans.

The Cleveland Contemporary Youth Orchestra will provide accompaniment throughout the evening for the second straight year.

The show will also hand out two special awards to icons in the business. Legendary metal vocalist and horror film director Rob Zombie will be honored with the Vanguard Award, while punk rock band X will receive the Icon Award.

Wednesday’s awards show comes in the midst of the magazine’s 30th year anniversary celebration, commemorated by a special new exhibit in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.

In 2014, the first ever APMAs were hosted by Blink-182 bassist Mark Hoppus. Last year, Pierce The Veil won more awards than any band with three, while All Time Low and Bring Me The Horizon each took home two.

The show begins at 7:30 p.m. The show will live stream on


Best Vocalist

Tyler Carter (Issues)

Vic Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)

Lynn Gunn (PVRIS)

Adam Lazzara (Taking Back Sunday)

Jeremy McKinnon (A Day To Remember)

Hayley Williams (Paramore)


Best Live Band

A Day To Remember


Panic! At The Disco


twenty one pilots

The Wonder Years

Breakthrough Band



Modern Baseball

Neck Deep


This Wild Life


Best Bassist

Kyle Fasel (Real Friends)

Jeph Howard (The Used)

Ryan Jay Johnson (letlive.)

Zack Merrick (All Time Low)

Devin “Ghost” Sola (Motionless In White)

Dallon Weekes (Panic! At The Disco)

Best International Band

The 1975 (UK)

The Amity Affliction (Australia)

Marmozets (UK)

New Politics (Denmark)

Northlane (Australia)

Crossfaith (Japan)

Artist Philanthropic Award

Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness (Dear Jack Foundation)

Bayside (The Human Rights Campaign)

Koji (Doctors Without Borders)

Jake Luhrs of August Burns Red (HeartSupport)

Simple Plan (The Simple Plan Foundation)

Taking Back Sunday (American Cancer Society)


Best Guitarist

Arun Bali (Saves The Day)

Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die)

Tony Perry (Pierce The Veil)

Kevin Skaff (A Day To Remember)

Will Swan (Dance Gavin Dance)

Jacky Vincent (Falling In Reverse)


Tumblr Fandom of the Year

All Time low

Fall Out Boy

5 Seconds of Summer

Panic! At The Disco

Twenty One Pilots

The 1975


Best Drummer

Cyrus Bolooki (New Found Glory)

Rian Dawson (All Time Low)

Jake Garland (Memphis May Fire)

Adam Gray (Texas In July)

Matt Greiner (August Burns Red)

Luke Holland (The Word Alive)

Best Underground Band

Being As An Ocean

The Hotelier

Knuckle Puck

Major League

State Champs

Tigers Jaw

Most Dedicated Fanbase

All Time Low (Hustlers)

Crown The Empire (The Runaways)

Fall Out Boy (Overcast Kids)

Motionless In White (Creatures)

Paramore (Parafamily)

twenty one pilots (Skeleton Clique)


Song of the Year

Beartooth: “Beaten In Lips”

Motionless In White: “Reincarnate”

Real Friends: “I Don’t Love You Anymore”

Set It Off: “Why Worry”

Sleeping With Sirens: “Kick Me”

PVRIS: “My House”


Album of the Year

Beartooth: Disgusting

Black Veil Brides: Black Veil Brides

Circa Survive: Descensus

Every Time I Die: From Parts Unknown

frnkiero andthe cellabration: Stomachaches

Gerard Way: Hesitant Alien

Issues: Issues

La Dispute: Rooms of the House

Linkin Park: The Hunting Party

Real Friends: Maybe This Place Is The Same And We’re Just Changing


Artist of the Year

Against Me!

Black Veil Brides

Crown The Empire


Motionless In White

New Found Glory

Of Mice & Men


Taking Back Sunday



Best Music Video

Bring Me The Horizon: “Drown”

A Day To Remember: “End of Me”

Fall Out Boy: “Centuries”

Modern Baseball: “Your Graduation”

PVRIS: “St. Patrick”

Set It Off: “Why Worry”


Comments powered by Disqus