Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Post

Taylor Saxton and the Ohio dugout cheer on their teammates during Ohio's against Akron on April 13.

Softball: Ohio kicks off MAC Tournament against Miami

Ohio will begin the Mid-American Conference Tournament on Wednesday against Miami in Firestone Stadium.

Ohio enters the tournament as the No. 1 seed after winning the MAC outright for the first time since 1995. The Bobcats haven’t won the conference tournament since 2014. They lost in the championship series last year to Kent State.

Ohio went 20-3 in the MAC: It won every conference series it played.

The Bobcats also showed well in conference awards. Senior Danielle Stiene was named Pitcher of the Year. She was also named to the first-team All-MAC, her first time on the top team, with two second-team finishes as well. She went 12-1 in conference with a 1.02 ERA.

Mikayla Cooper and Alex Day were also named to the first team. It is Cooper’s second time being named to the top team. Day earned a second-team nomination last season.

Taylor Saxton and Morgan Geno were named to the second team All-MAC. It is the second time the two players were named to the second team. 

Katie Yun was named to the All-Freshman team. She started all 23 conference games at shortstop and hit .275 with five home runs.

The Bobcats will play the RedHawks for the second time this season. In the other matchup, Ohio took two of three games, with the one loss being a 1-0, 11-inning game.

Morgan Geno hit three home runs and drove in five RBIs in that series. Stiene won two games, while only allowing four runs on 11 hits. 

The Miami Report

The RedHawks were .500 overall this season at 24-24, and they had an 11-12 MAC record. Winning their final series against Buffalo, they snuck into the tournament as the No. 8 seed.

Senior Megan Wurts leads the way for Miami. She hit .331 with eight home runs in the regular season. 

Courtney Vierstra is the RedHawks’ best pitcher, with a 16-14 record and a 2.49 ERA. She’s struck out 157 batters this season. 


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2016-2023 The Post, Athens OH