Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Post - Athens, OH
The independent newspaper covering campus and community since 1911.
The Post
Ohio University's Zayne Lehman wrestles DeAndre Nassar of Cleveland State at the Convo. on January 22, 2023.

Wrestling: Ohio finishes seventh at Navy Classic as three wrestlers place

Ohio faced some quality competition over the weekend as it took on several elite teams at the Navy Classic. After a day of wrestling, Ohio watched three wrestlers place while the whole team performed well and earned some significant wins to finish in a tie for seventh with a total of 58.0 team points. 

125-pound class:

Ohio had a rather disappointing day in this weight class. Ryan Meek and Malachi O’Leary both received byes to the round of 16. Meek lost against Princeton’s Drew Heethius by a 3-0 decision. Similarly, O’Leary was bested in the round of 16, dropping a 10-4 decision against Air Force’s Nick Gonzalez. 

O’Leary lost in the consolation bracket against Navy’s Dayton Delviscio to end his day. Meek defeated Kent State’s Gunner Havens by a score of 2-0 before becoming the second Ohio wrestler to lose to Gonzalez as he lost in the next consolation match. 

133-pound class:

Ohio had a pair of wrestlers who competed in the 15-person bracket. Paul Woo and Mason Brugh are both attempting to establish themselves for Ohio. Woo had an impressive weekend, picking up a pin against Ashland. He lost in a major decision against Nebraska’s Kyle Burwick, 11-3. Brugh did not fare much better, losing 11-1 against Garrett Totten from Navy. 

Woo and Brugh made their way to the consolation bracket. Woo picked up a major decision over Ryan Aquilani from Kent State, 8-0. Woo would also lose against Totten in the next round of the bracket to end his day. Brugh had an early exit, losing in his first match in the consolation bracket. 

141-pound class:

Ohio was led by Pierce Taylor and Aidan Waszak in the 141-pound class. Taylor had a tough day, leading his match against Air Force’s Garrett Kuchan 3-0 before medically forfeiting. Waszak would complete his match, but lose against the eventual fourth-place finisher, Jordan Silka from The Citadel. Waszak lost in the consolation bracket to end his day.  

149-pound class:

In the 149-pound class, Derek Raike was the only competitor for Ohio. Raike would win his first match against The Citadel’s Carson DesRosier in a marathon that ended with a 19-17 final score. His next match was not as successful as the No. 2 seeded Raike lost to Davidson’s Tyler-Xavier McKnight to move him to the consolation bracket. 

In the consolation bracket, Raike picked up a tech fall, forfeit and regular decision to arrive at the 5th-place match. Raike would lose in a “no contest” match to slide to sixth place. The silver lining for Raike was that he did place and was honored as the first Ohio wrestler to do so on the day to that point. 

157-pound class: 

Daniel Segura was the sole wrestler for Ohio in the 157-pound class and did an admirable job. He won his first two matches to arrive at the quarterfinals against Nebraska’s Peyton Robb, the No. 1 ranked wrestler in this division at the meet. Segura was unable to pull off the upset. 

In the consolation bracket, Segura picked up a major decision before defeating Bucknell’s Riley Bower for the second time on the day to arrive at the 5th-place match. Segura would defeat The Citadel’s Thomas Snipes to capture fifth place. 

165-pound class: 

The Bobcats sent out Sean O’Dwyer and Garrett Thompson to compete in the 165-pound class bracket. O’Dwyer picked up a major decision win in the first round before losing in the second to move him to the consolation bracket. In the consolation bracket, O’Dwyer would advance via forfeit before losing a decision to end his day in the consolation bracket. 

Thompson, on the other hand, was rather dominant in the bracket. He had a first-round bye before picking up a tech fall and a regular decision to put him in the semifinals. In the semifinals, Thompson was defeated by Nebraska’s Antrell Taylor, the eventual champion of the bracket. Thompson went to the third-place match and was victorious against Bucknell’s Noah Mulvaney via tech fall, 17-2. 

174-pound class: 

Sal Perrine entered this bracket with high expectations as he was seeded as the No. 3 wrestler. After a first-round bye, Perrine picked up a tech fall, but could not defeat Nebraska’s Christopher Minto. Perrine went to the consolation bracket where he medically forfeited to end his day. 

184-pound class: 

Max Ray, not Zayne Lehman, was the wrestler to represent Ohio in this bracket. Ray won 10-4 in both of the first two matches. These victories set up a match against Navy’s David Key, who eventually took home second place. Ray lost to put him in the consolation bracket. In the consolation bracket, Ray lost via major decision to end his day. 

197-pound class:

Starr wrestled first and earned a regular decision victory to move on to the second round. He advanced through the second round via forfeit and got to the quarterfinals. He would lose in the quarterfinals against Ben Smith from Cleveland State. Starr went to the consolation bracket where he would defeat one Edinboro wrestler before losing against another in the second consolation match. 

285-pound class: 

Jordan Greer would lose in his first match of the bracket against The Citadel’s Jonathan Chesser. In the consolation bracket, Greer would get a fall and a forfeit to make it to the second consolation round. Greer would be defeated by American’s William Jarrell to end his day.


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2016-2024 The Post, Athens OH