Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Post - Athens, OH
The independent newspaper covering campus and community since 1911.
The Post

Members of Faculty Senate meet on Feb. 2018.

New senators will join Faculty Senate at the April meeting

At Monday’s Faculty Senate, newly elected senators will attend their first meeting and officers will be elected. 

Ohio University faculty participate in electronic voting for the senators on 22 ballots. Those ballots are divided into college and faculty groups. The nominees for officers are current chair Joe McLaughlin for chair, Beth Quitslund for vice chair and Robin Muhammad for secretary. 

“The senators can also, at the meeting, nominate other people from the floor for elections,” Katie Hartman, chair of the Educational Policy and Student Affairs committee said. 

Six resolutions will be presented, and the three resolutions that will be voted at Monday’s Faculty Senate have seen minimal changes since last month.

“As far as those resolutions and comments on those resolutions that are up for second reading and vote, the response has been overwhelmingly positive,”  Sarah Wyatt, chair of the Professional Relations committee, said. 

“Most of the changes are just little clarifications,” Wyatt said.

Two of the first readings will come from the Professional Relations committee and the other is about establishing graduate faculty rank is from the Educational Policy and Student Affairs committee. 

That resolution will allow colleges and departments to establish criteria for faculty working in graduate programs.

The Professional Relations committee is introducing one resolution to define procedures in the faculty handbook for the process of discrimination allegations.

The Office of Equity and Civil Rights Compliance investigates sexual misconduct and discrimination. After crafting resolutions to address faculty sexual misconduct, the committee also wanted to address cases of faculty discrimination.

“I will be bringing a resolution to the floor to basically state the reporting line for those allegations and the process the faculty should follow so those were another that just aren’t clear in the handbook,” Wyatt said.

President Duane Nellis and Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Sayrs will begin the meeting by presenting a timeline for the 2019 budget process, updating faculty on search processes to fill positions such as the open executive vice president and provost position and updating faculty on the work of the Freedom of Expression policy committee, McLaughlin said in an email.

They will also provide a timeline for developing a new “Freedom of Expression” policy.

Greg Fialko will come in to Walter Hall room 235 to report on the university’s benefits budget. He will also present the recommendations made by the Benefits Advisory Committee for next year. 


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2016-2024 The Post, Athens OH