Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Post - Athens, OH
The independent newspaper covering campus and community since 1911.
The Post

The exterior of Cutler Hall, located on College Green, which houses the offices of the president, the provost and other senior administrative officers. (FILE)

Once again, men's basketball and football coaches top list of OU salaries

Ohio men’s basketball coach Saul Phillips will once again earn the highest salary at Ohio University during the 2017-18 academic year — despite not seeing a pay increase.

Phillips, who has topped the list for four years in a row, will receive an annual salary of $572,520.

During his first year as OU president, Duane Nellis will earn the third-highest university paycheck, with an annual salary of $475,000 — just shy of the $500,000 salary previous OU President Roderick McDavis raked in during his final year in Cutler Hall.

Eight of the 10 employees who will earn the highest salaries at OU during the 2017-18 academic also did so last academic year. The two new additions to the list, Nellis and Special Assistant to the President David Descutner, replaced McDavis and former Executive Vice President and Provost Pam Benoit, both of whom have since left the university.

Of those eight employees who were also on the list last year, none of them saw an increase in their pay. The combined salaries of OU’s top earners for the 2017-18 academic year is $3,678,110 — $19,000 more than last year’s top 10 list.

Deborah Shaffer, vice president for Finance and Administration, is the only woman on the top 10 list, and there are no racial minorities on the top 10 list.

The highest paid dean at the university is Kenneth Johnson, the executive dean of the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine. A total of three deans earn salaries that land them on the top 10 list.

Four of the employees on the list work for the executive administration and three work for the academic administration. The remaining three work for athletics.


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2016-2024 The Post, Athens OH