Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
The Post

Nelsonville elects 6 At-Large City Council members

Justin Booth, Gregory Clement, Elizabeth Pidcock Jones and Cory Taylor were elected as full-term Nelsonville City Council members At-Large, beating Opha Lawson, who received 13.87% of votes.

The results of the election were 23.19% for Taylor, 22.3% for Jones, 18.34% for Clement and 22.3% for Booth.

Daniel Sherman and Gregory Smith were elected to unexpired term positions on Council. Sherman received 52.74% of the vote while Smith received 47.26%. 

Smith, a former police officer who has spent 23 years on Council, was previously removed by the Council in a special meeting held Sept. 8 for violating city residence requirements. 

Jones, assistant dean of graduate student success at Ohio University, focused her campaign on improving infrastructure and economic growth. Jones is especially worried about recent breaks in Nelsonville waterlines.

Jones was appointed as a member of Nelsonville Council for the first time in 2020. She received a bachelor's degree, master’s degree and M.B.A from OU.

Clement, a self-employed man, wants to push for more community involvement by allowing virtual access and promoting citizen attendance at meetings.

Clement previously served on Council from 2004 to 2005.

Booth, an automotive service director, was appointed at the same time as Jones. He plans to expand law enforcement and jail capacity to combat increased crime rates. Booth believes are caused by prisoners released from Southeast Ohio Regional Jail, which is located in Nelsonville.

“I’m excited to continue serving the city of Nelsonville,” Booth said. “The work this team is doing is nothing less than transformative for the city.”

This story will be updated with comments from the candidates. 


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2016-2023 The Post, Athens OH